Tribunal Office

Nnewi Diocesan Ecclesiastical Tribunal began as Liaison Office to Onitsha Inter-diocesan Tribunal (comprising Awka Diocese, Nnewi Diocese, and Onitsha Arch-diocese Tribunal) on 25Ll1 March 2015. Having Rev. Fr. John Ohaegbu as the Judicial Vicar and the coordinating personnel to the mother Tribunal He also served as Judge in the inter-Diocesan Collegial Tribunal at Onitsha. With the publication and promulgation of Reformed Law in the marriage tribunal processes, the Diocese therefore established a new collegiate tribunal of first Instance on 1st February 2016, having the Local Ordinary Most Rev. Hilary Paul Odili Okeke as Moderator and a Judge in this tribunal. This came into effect with the inception of the Papal Motu Proprio Mitis Iudex Dominus Jesus on 8th December 2016.


Tribunal Officials:

1. Rev. Fr. Titus Nnabugwu  Judicial Vicar/ President of the Tribunal
2. Rev. Fr. Cyprain Ohagwa   Judge
3. Rev. Fr. Donald Chukwudolue   Judge
4. Rev. Fr. George Ezukwo   Judge
5. Rev. Fr. Paul Onwughalu   Defender of the Bond
6. Rev. Fr. Maurice lzunwa   Promoter of Justice
7. Rev. Fr. George Okoli   Notary
8. Rev. Fr. Henry Ejimbe   Notary
9. Mrs. Chizoba Okechukwu Administrative Sec I
10. Miss Uju Okonkwo  Administrative Sec II


The office days are Daily, Monday - Friday 8:00am 2;30pm. The tribunal adjudicates on some administrative and marriage matters; where she has competence and jurisdication to administer at/in, and not on reserved matters.


Catholic Diocese of Nnewi
Nnobi Road, Nnewi
P.M.B 5099, Nnewi
Anambra State, Nigeria                     

Email: info@nnewidiocese.ng 
Phone: +234(0) 80 345 6789


Please send us your ideas and suggestions! Any feedback would be appreciated.